possibly purchasing a Colt AR15 SP1, help please??

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by eeklun01, Dec 8, 2011.

1. eeklun01

eeklun01 New Member

i am a complete noobie about assault rifles and i need some advice, so my friend is selling me his colt ar15 sp1 for $300 the gun is in full working order and i was wondering if this gun is notorious for any problems and if its even worth my time purchasing?

also the gun doesnt have forward assist and i plan to change the upper, if i change the upper receiver with a YHM A3 upper is it possible to change just the upper and use the original parts? i am sure there are more parts that the upper consists of than i know of

2. AgentTikki

AgentTikki New Member

Lemme put it to you this way.

If you don't want. Please tell him to sell it to me.

Secondly, yes you can just change the upper rec,iever, but you will need to do some research and special tools. Honestly a forward asssit isn't all that big a deal, unless its a fightin gun then I'd rather have the FA. But for a range and plinker....DOET.

3. AgentTikki

AgentTikki New Member

Oh and colts are good guns. Even if the barrel as shot out and every litte part on it needed to be replaced...$300 IS A GREAT PRICE.

Oh and....picture plzzzzzzzz.

4. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

I'll take it.

5. eeklun01

eeklun01 New Member

ok thanks for the help, yeah he said the same thing about foward assist, i plan to use this gun for tactical courses and for home pertection for when the freeloading people of the united states go crazy haha heres some pics

Attached Files:

6. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

Is everything Colt like the BCG and what not?

7. eeklun01

eeklun01 New Member

sorry still new to AR's, what do you mean by BCG?

8. FCross7

FCross7 New Member

Bolt Carrier Group.

What I think he's getting at, is if that rifle is all original, it might be better for you to sell it. It could be worth more than the $300 you've got in it.

-Fred

9. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member