Please help me get into reloading.

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by GCFisher, Mar 17, 2014.

1. GCFisher

GCFisher New Member

Hi. I'm new to this forum. My good friend Rustyshackleford101 referred me here. I am a longtime shooter but I am new to handloading. I've just gotten into it,and I have some questions. 1) I know that I should "cross reference" data sources, but how do I go about this? The starting loads in some manuals are close to the max loads in others! 2) What is "working up a load", why is it done, and how do I do it? 3) This ones kind of tricky to word. Can I use data for one bullet on another as long as the other one is the same weight and diameter? For example, my Lyman manual has data for 158gr LSWC for .38 special. They can be only made with lyman moulds. I have Magtech 158gr LSWC bullets. Could I use the lyman data (for their propriety cast bullet) with my other cast bullets? I would appreciate any advice. Thanks a lot.

2. RaySendero

RaySendero Member

Reloading

GC,

Give us a few more details:
    Your wanting to load 158 cast for a 38 Special or a 357M?
    What handgun you loading for?
    What primer and powder do you plan to use?

3. therukh

therukh New Member