Pictures of lower receivers

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by Quentin, Feb 13, 2011.

1. Quentin

Quentin New Member

Looking at the beautiful picture of a stripped RRA lower VitSports6 posted in another thread I got thinking a thread with good pictures of lowers might be very helpful for anyone starting a new build. Might as well see what's out there before choosing just anything!

Hopefully VitSports6 will add that picture here and I'll start with some I have.

2. Quentin

Quentin New Member

3. Quentin

Quentin New Member

4. Quentin

Quentin New Member

Charles Daly CDD-15

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

5. winds-of-change

winds-of-change The Balota's Staff Member

I'm new to guns and learning. I now see what a lower receiver is. What makes them different? Just looks or do they offer different sorts of shooting? Please be patient, I am very new to guns.

6. VitSports6

VitSports6 New Member

:eek:

Its not my pic, I did a quick google search and viola'

[​IMG]

7. Jpyle

Jpyle New Member

WOC

All lower receivers perform four basic functions: accept and hold a magazine, accept the trigger group, provide a pistol grip mounting and secure the stock...5 if you count the pivot and takedown pins...

That being said differences exist in the individual internal components as well as the fit and finish, and manufacturing methods, of the lower itself. JD does an excellent job of recapping the different types of lowers in one of the stickies in the AR thread, bottomline is stay away from the ones Cletus made from old soup cans...:)

So to answer your questions...the type of manufacturing and the quality of the materials used, including the finish, differentiate one lower from the other. Lower quality lowers may suffer from out of alignment issues, poorly drilled holes, machine marks, etc. Not enough to make them inoperable mind you just a little more difficult to work with. Lowers can be, in order of price; cast $, forged $$ or billet $$$$.