Firearms Talk banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Henry, Big Horn, Marlin, Winchester, I can go on and on. As most of us can.. But I have little experience with them. I'm looking for a good quality piece. I'm thinking 45/410 cal. I dont hunt. I just shoot for fun. What does the FTF say and why.. Share your experience with a lever gun..

·
Premium Member
868 Posts
If, as you say, it is just for fun, then I would look at any number of pistol cartridge lever guns. I have owned Winchesters in .357 and .45 Colt, and I still do own an older Marlin 1894 in .44 Mag. I have enjoyed all three, but the Marlin stuck with me...😊
If you go for a Marlin, look into older guns in good shape. Henry’s are nice guns, so are Winchesters. Some folks like Rossi’s, but I do not care for them much. My caliber recommendation would be .44 Mag or, if you reload, .45 Colt. A .44 Mag lever is a very useful gun that is also a lot of fun; capable hunting rifle or self defense. No matter what you choose, I would get something with a side load gate. I would avoid the Henry guns that are still tube fed only.

·
Premium Member
2,121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If, as you say, it is just for fun, then I would look at any number of pistol cartridge lever guns. I have owned Winchesters in .357 and .45 Colt, and I still do own an older Marlin 1894 in .44 Mag. I have enjoyed all three, but the Marlin stuck with me...
If you go for a Marlin, look into older guns in good shape. Henry’s are nice guns, so are Winchesters. Some folks like Rossi’s, but I do not care for them much. My caliber recommendation would be .44 Mag or, if you reload, .45 Colt. A .44 Mag lever is a very useful gun that is also a lot of fun; capable hunting rifle or self defense. No matter what you choose, I would get something with a side load gate. I would avoid the Henry guns that are still tube fed only.
Good points I did not know.. 357 would do quite nice.

·
Registered
166 Posts