Picking a reloader

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by colmustard, May 28, 2010.

1. colmustard

colmustard New Member

So I am wanting to start reloading ammo, and I was hoping you fine folks could point me in the right direction, as far as what brands of reloaders and models are best and easiest to use, and any other equipment I will need to get. I am mainly wanting to reload .45 acp, .40 s&w and 9mm. Thanks for any help.

2. spittinfire

spittinfire New Member Supporter

You'll hear mixed reviews on Lee equipment and while it is not the best out there, I would reccommend their 4 hole turret to get started. It is an inexpensive way to get started and see if you like it. I've been using mine for 2 years with no issues.

3. Missileman

Missileman New Member

I'd suggest a Dillon Square Deal--a little more to start with than a c-press, but it comes with ones set of dies and will last forever, plus you can't beat Dillon's customer service.

4. SDiver40

SDiver40 New Member

Not sure where you want to start out and how much you want to spend, BUT the Dillon is hard to beat if your looking for a turret press. As stated above, customer service is top notch!

IF your thinking about a single stage press, then I would look at the RCBS. I been using one for around 20 years and I just cant wear the darn thing out.

5. jeepcreep927

jeepcreep927 New Member

Far as I'm concerned, for a progressive press, Dillon is the only game in town, but you pay for it a little more up front.

RCBS and Redding for single stage are both hard to beat but the Redding is a little pricier.

Good luck.

6. cpttango30

cpttango30 New Member

I would say start with a turret press. Everyone here knows I HATE Lee products. If you are not sure you want to keep reloading them get some lee stuff and try it out. Reloading stuff keeps its value rather well.

I prefer RCBS or Dillon. There are plenty to choose from.