Phoenix 22 , good deal or not?

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by Pjj342, Nov 26, 2010.

1. Pjj342

Pjj342 New Member

I was thinking about getting my wife a pheonix 22 for christmas. Their only like 130 dollars. Any first hand info that would help me out? Ive never fired one and dont know anyone who owns one.

2. Overkill0084

Overkill0084 Active Member

I will admit that I have no personal experience with this gun. I found this review: Phoenix Arms HP22A .22 LR Pistol Review

It seems to be more of a project right out of the box than I would prefer.
    What is it's intended purpose?

If it's for self defense I think I would look further. If it's just for training & familiarization, then go for it. If you are looking for a super inexpensive handgun there are other choices. I would look at Bersa for small inexpensive carry guns. They seem popular and seem to have a decent reputation. If small and concealable isn't a concern, then look at Hi-Point. Kinda ugly but functional and a they reputedly have very good customer support. I bought my wife a Taurus .38 last year. It was reasonably priced and works well. However, Taurus has a bit of a mixed reputation, so due diligence is necessary.

3. JonM

JonM Moderator

my opinion. let your wife pick out a gun she is comfy with. a big mistake people often make when buying guns for women is it to go small thinking she is a girl girls need small guns. the smaller the gun the more unpleasent and difficult they are to shoot. im of the opinion that firearms should never be a surprise gift. the recipient should always be part of the decision process.

if you want her to be more involved in shooting let her pick something that fits her. not much worse than having a gun that sucks to shoot.

my wife surprised me out of all the guns i have she likes shooting the desert eagle 50AE the best. she wont touch any of the others besides her bersa thunder 380.