Parts For SKS

Discussion in 'AK & SKS Discussion' started by Sgt_Skrb_25, Dec 11, 2013.

1. Sgt_Skrb_25

Sgt_Skrb_25 New Member

Just got a SKS(Chinese) ,
    I'm already ordering a new stock kit. Are there any other upgrades that are available. I'm new to this platform. Have not shot it yet , but already know I would like to mount a scope. I know I need a receiver rail mount to go over bolt cover. Are there any internal upgrades worth looking in to? I.E , firing pin, bolt, springs ect.?

2. Sgt_Skrb_25

Sgt_Skrb_25 New Member

Also what kind of glass are people running on their SKS? I only have one scope, but calibrated for 223.

3. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

Receiver cover scope mmounts are almost universally recognizd as junk. They either do not hold zero or break with dramatic regularity.

A scout type mount over the gas tube may be a better option. There are several available, but I have never tried one.

The SKS is a platform that does not lend its self to optics very smoothly. You can turbo charge a Model T, but it will give you trouble.

Ventillated handguards, aftermarket stocks, high cap (duck bill) magazines, muzzle devices , etc are accessories commonly used on the SKS. A good fixed 20 rd mag and perhaps something to increase the length of pull are about all you really need.

To prevent slam fires, I took out my firing pin, deburred and polished it. It will not bind in the bolt now and slam fires have never been an issue. I shoot a bunch of handloads through my SKS and the primers are way more sensitive than the typical ComBloc ammo

4. primer1

primer1 Well-Known Member Supporter

They are becoming more and more collectible, there was only a limited number imported. I would keep it original if I was you. At a minimum keep all the original parts and try not to permanently alter anything.