Owls , Hawks and other big trouble birds

Discussion in 'Legal and Activism' started by MobileMarine, Nov 26, 2011.

1. MobileMarine

MobileMarine New Member

I have often wondered where the stuffed owls , hawks , eagles and other protected animals come from if they are .. indeed protected ?

My aunt is sorta a self taught home brew taxidermist and has in the past found dead owls and hawks that were either hit by cars or have moved on from this world . Is it legal to get one stuffed if it died a natural death or hit by a car ?
    I would have to assume if there is no bullet wound or the like then what would be the big deal ?

Do taxidermist have the big man breathing down their necks 24/7 also ?

2. JonM

JonM Moderator

zoos sometimes have dead animals taxidermy and sold in auctions to fund zoo activities or charities. some states have laws forbidding the possession of roadkill or just dead found animals. some dont care.

check with your fish and game people in your state on regulations concerning such.

generally its illegal because they dont want a rash of accidental animal deaths for profit if you know what i mean.

some states sell such animals to reputable taxidermists just depends

3. KalashnikovJosh

KalashnikovJosh New Member

EVERYONE has the out-of-control government on their backs these days my friend.

You can't even take a dump in a toilet that isnt federally regulated on some level.

4. hiwall

hiwall Well-Known Member

I believe it is a federal law that prohibits even having a feather from a raptor in your possession. Of course there are exceptions for - Native Americans, State agencies, federal agencies, zoos, museums, etc. Also any that are older than the date of the law(1970's I think). I don't believe they actively look for law breakers on this issue but if they happen upon a violator it is to bad for you.

5. spittinfire

spittinfire New Member Supporter

I had the feds checking my TP just last week....

6. bigbomar4

bigbomar4 New Member