Optic for Beretta suggestion

Discussion in 'Optics & Mounts' started by Mouser, Aug 14, 2013.

1. Mouser

Mouser Member

First off... I am a complete novice as it relates to optics for handguns...that is my disclaimer :D

The picture is my wife's handgun. It is a Beretta 92 Custom Carry and she likes it due to he single stack grips and manageable recoil. I detest the gun because POI is way low from POA.

The solution....add an adjustable red dot optic that is fairly inexpensive (remember, wife's gun and I don't like it) that can mount with minimal brainpower from the mechanically challenged....and of course, needs to withstand the recoil and action of a semi-auto...I suppose most, if not all do, but I don't know from experience that this is the case...see original disclaimer.

So experts...what types of sight, make/model etc...would a guy like me look for?

Attached Files:

2. JonM

JonM Moderator

Personally i dont recomend optics on a carry pistol.

Ammo choice has a lot to do with poi in handguns. Almost all 9mm are factory set for the 115grain fmj at 1150-1200fps at 10-15yards. Some ccw type guns are set to 7yards which might be the case with that one.

If your using a heavier bullet like 124 or bigger the poi shift can be pretty big. If your using a lighter bullet or one with a different ballistic coefficient it can also be big.

I use either 115grain fmj or hornady 115grain critical defense in my berreta compact both have pretty much spot on poi.

You can contact berreta for the distance and ammo specs they used to confirm zero.

Lastly if she likes it why mess with it?? Unless its off by a foot or more at 7 yards i wouldnt worry about it. Self defense isnt bullseye shooting you just need to land hits in a 18"x18" box...

If you insist on getting an optic you like for a gun you detest that doesnt belong to you... i would suggest the trijicon rmr its an excellent semi auto optic

Last edited: Aug 15, 2013

3. Mouser

Mouser Member