Open carry...what police think about-it...

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by LONGHAIR, Nov 21, 2011.

1. LONGHAIR

LONGHAIR New Member

I was thinking if I was a cop and seen somebody with open-carry..What's the first thing going to be to cross my mined...Impersonating a police officer,or who is this guy...Anybody know how there trained to deal with that???...I was just woundering....I guess it happens all the time somewhere....

2. Vincine

Vincine New Member

I’m not a LEO, but if I was I’d think; ‘This guy’s okay because he’s not trying to hide it’.
    Quickly followed by, ‘Except maybe he’s trying to fool me into thinking he’s okay by not hiding it’.
    But then I’d think 'I’m probably just being paranoid and he really is probably okay’.
    Except that, 'I’m a LEO and I’d better check him out to make sure because that’s my job and I'd be negligent if I didn't'.
    Followed by, 'Geez, I sure hope he's okay because I sure don't want to get in a gun fight today'.

Like I said, I'm not a LEO.

3. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Depends on where you are- training, policy and procedure will vary greatly- along with WHERE is the person carrying.

Walking into a public business- gas station, Mickey Dees, etc, would probably get a different reaction than walking into a college.

Here- basically a gun friendly state, thought process is probably something like "Looks old enough to possess. Does not look like raving loonie. Behavior fits the 95% normal pattern. Not illegal. Minimal response from people around them (no one fleeing in panic from something I did not see). Nice Colt."

Philly? "GET ON THE GROUND!"

4. trip286

trip286 New Member

What's that policy? Oh yeah, probable cause.