NYS handgun laws...help!!!

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by ecohitman81, Aug 31, 2012.

1. ecohitman81

ecohitman81 New Member

Former resident of NY, Traveling to NYS this weekend (upstate) can I legally possess my handgun as long is i follow NYS laws. I am a current resident of TN and have my carry permit. I know I cannot carry in NY but can I legally possess?

2. vincent

vincent New Member

3. hockeyjr1

hockeyjr1 New Member

A very brief search on google u would find this answer... No you can't.

Also being a CCW holder already you should know what state have reciprocity with tenn.

Not trying to throw u out on a limb but I live in NYS now, I'm only 20 don't have a permit and ik that...

Believe me.. Ik New York sucks ***!!! I can't trick out my ar15 at all..

4. hockeyjr1

hockeyjr1 New Member

I'm sorry, I didn't see that u asked about possession not carrying.

Being that nys is crazy about pistols and the fact that you NEED a permit just to hold one in a gun store as to own one, I would say no u can't.

I can't even make a pit stop in NYC with a long gun without possibly getting a felony charge...

Best thing to do it not risk it and leave it home...

Ik for a fact tho that if you were going to drive through the state with no planned stops then yes you can have it but I has to be locked in the truck with the ammo separate in the car..

5. hockeyjr1

hockeyjr1 New Member

"It is unlawful for any person to carry, possess or transport a handgun in or through the state unless he has a valid New York license."

Right from nys gun laws

6. ecohitman81

ecohitman81 New Member

Yeah probably not worth the risk. I have traveled via car and brought it but as soon as I get to erie PA, I unload lock and separate ammunition..Im flying up this time and don't want to risk the TSA possibly reporting to the state and ruining my trip..NYS is a bit extreme on Gun control laws and that's one thing I sure do not miss.

7. hockeyjr1

hockeyjr1 New Member