Novel Question: Round Capacity

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by SDJonathan, Dec 13, 2010.

1. SDJonathan

SDJonathan New Member

Hey, I'm writing a novel, and I was wondering if somebody could help me out with some questions I have about ammunition:

1:How heavy is ammo, and about how many 9mm rounds could an ordinary person carry in a backpack without being overly burdened?

2: What is the highest round capacity for a firearm available to a civilian?

2. skullcrusher

skullcrusher New Member

1. Literally alot. Go to a Wally World and pick up a box of 9mm, you will see it is not very heavy. Of course, it depends upon the person.

2. State laws vary with regards to round capacity.

3. Being a writer myself, I can offer some advice. Read, read, read and write about what you know.

3. Jo da Plumbr

Jo da Plumbr New Member

Have you picked a weapon yet? Different guns have different capacities.

4. SecPro

SecPro New Member

Yup! You can get a Glock and then buy a 30rd mag for it. Or you can get that XDM9 thing and those mags hold 19. Those are just handguns brother!
    Next is rifles and shotguns and such!:) Keep cruising this place and you'll know exactly the questions to ask to get the responses you need. Surprisingly this place has allot of smart people apposed to other forums with there trolls etc.

5. SDJonathan

SDJonathan New Member

Well, I'm thinking of having this character (a 22 year old woman) use a 9mm handgun, and I'm hoping there's one with maybe around 20 round capacity, because she's something of a klutz with her hands and has difficulty reloading weapons quickly.

Also, I've heard of automatic weapons that can have the automatic firing "turned off." If this is true, I'm thinking that another character who gets his hands on some machine guns would do this with a large magazine assault rifle after discovering that the AK 47 only has three seconds of continuous fire, despite what every single action movie ever would suggest.