Noob brass catcher question

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by Bevo, Aug 29, 2013.

1. Bevo

Bevo New Member

I hope this is the right location for this question.

I'm thinking of getting a brass catcher for my AR and have a couple of questions for the more experienced:

1. If you have used one, how do you feel about it? In other words, did the balance of the AR change as the brass was caught? If yes, did it affect your shooting?

2. If you have used one, do you still or would you again?

3. Which one would you recommend, if any and why?

Hey, I know they're cheap and I'm probably over thinking the problem, but I'm an engineer by profession. It's what I do! :D

2. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

If you are shoting at Red's, you will want to collect your brass before they claim it. I have a cheap UTG brass catcher that works with a variety of self loaders. The brass does not weigh enough to upset the balance. Just empty it every mag and you will be fine.

3. ScottA

ScottA FAA licensed bugsmasher Lifetime Supporter

I found the one that attaches to the rifle is difficult to keep in place. If you are looking for something to use on the bench, I'd recommend a free standing one.

4. Rocky7

Rocky7 New Member

How come I read: "B oob brass catcher question"......weird.

5. Bevo

Bevo New Member

Wishful thinking? :)

6. Bevo

Bevo New Member

Thanks for the opinions so far. I don't live in Austin but when I visit my dad, we go to Red's. They are startlingly efficient at "cleaning" casings. I tend to shoot freehand rather than from a bench so a "strap on" is more in line with my needs. Somehow I think I'll regret that last sentence.....

7. Devin556

Devin556 New Member

Wow, might wana get that checked out man. Regret away, but it's out there now.

8. JonM

JonM Moderator