Non resident conceal carry question.

Discussion in 'Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection' started by winds-of-change, Oct 14, 2012.

1. winds-of-change

winds-of-change The Balota's Staff Member

I was wondering if I could conceal carry in a state that allows concealed carry even though I am not a resident of that state. Say I go to Arizona. Can I legally conceal carry while visiting there even though I am a resident of Illinois?

2. nitestalker

nitestalker New Member

If you have a CCW from a state that is approved by the state of Arizona. If you live in states such as California, Ill etc that does not issure CCWs apply for a Utah permit. Utah will issue you a permit. The Utah CCW is good in Arizona. If you are an adult ARIZONA RESIDENT you do not need a CCW.:)

3. phildenton

phildenton New Member

Some places open carry is a viable option as well. Like if you were to visit wa. Just know that even open carry legalities vary. In florida you can have a loaded handgun in YOUR car without a permit the same as in your home. BUT in wa you need a permit to have a loaded handgun in your car no matter whether its open or concealed. Life is simplified getting the permit valid to the jurisdiction.

Last edited: Oct 14, 2012
  4. nitestalker

nitestalker New Member

Very true get a CCW. Study the laws before you travel. Arizona law says weapons must be in holster in a car. This means just that a holster. During open carry 2" of the holster must be exposed. Check the laws.:)

5. Chainfire

Chainfire Well-Known Member Supporter