Night Hunting Varmint Rifle

Discussion in 'Hunting Forum' started by Gatekeeper, Sep 20, 2009.

1. Gatekeeper

Gatekeeper New Member

Ive been getting into predator hunting recently--fox/coyote. Do most of my hunting at night. I usually go with my younger cousin carrying a rifle and I carry a shotgun.
    I usually like doing the calling/spotting and let him do the shooting.(surprisingly he's ok with this:rolleyes:)

In PA you cannot hunt from a vehicle like in other states so must pack gear in and out. So Im usually pretty loaded down. My 22-250 weighs around 15lbs so its out.
    Been thinking about getting a lightweight 223 rifle with a short barrel to use as my hunting setup. I already have the perfect setup (m4) but PA doesnt allow semi:mad:
    Anyone know of any short barreled(16-18") bolt rifles that would suit my needs? Or am I gonna have to go the custom route.
    Feel free to share your setups and even your hunting tips/stories as I am fairly new to pred. hunting and any good advice is welcome.
    Thanks---Ken

2. gloks4life

gloks4life New Member

do you have any certain caliber in mind?

3. Gatekeeper

Gatekeeper New Member

Pretty much set on 223. Most shots will be inside 100yds, majority will probly be closer than that, dont figure to be shooting 200 unless optimum conditions. .223/5.56 should be perfect.

4. Moss99

Moss99 New Member

Ruger makes a 77 Compact in .223. I have no experience with it but it's a Ruger 77 so it can't be too bad.

5. CA357

CA357 New Member Supporter

I had a Savage 110 in .223 and it was a great rifle. If I remember correctly (and I may not), it was a 110 E. I also don't remember the barrel length, but it was pretty handy.

6. gloks4life

gloks4life New Member