Newbie here, need help with takedown rifle

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by chrstian_indy, Jul 18, 2011.

1. chrstian_indy

chrstian_indy New Member

Hello all!

1st off, I’m new to this forum. 2ndly I’m new at owning guns and would like some help.

I will break this down into 2 separate threads. One for Survival Rifle and a separate thread called Survival handgun.

Since this thread is for Survival Rifle- the title says it all.

I don’t or have never owned a gun. I do have my lifetime permit here in the state of Indiana.

That said, I’ve been doing some research on “TAKE DOWN” rifles. I will list them here shortly and would like some comments regarding the take down rifles and hopefully I can come to a conclusion and set my mind on buying one at the gun show next month.

Before I list them, here is my 1st question: What should I consider as a survival rifle (Bolt Action or SA?) and why?
    - Although I like the Bolt Action better because they require less moving part, which if it were to break, it wouldn’t cost me an arm or a leg. Also because I’ve read that they are easy to clean.
    What do you guys think? BA or SA?

*many of you might be thinking what I’m going to use it for. Like I said, a survival situation. Survival how? Well, hunting game and maybe also protection- WHICH the bolt action wouldn’t help me much compare to a Semi auto*

Here is a list of what I’ve compile (all of them are in .22). Reason? .22 ammo is VERY common and VERY cheap. In a SHTF situation, trading for this kind of ammo will be easy. On top of that, I can stock on this kind of ammo IN BULKS for a SHTF trading situation. I can trade .22 for food or misc items or maybe other type of ammo. I’m thinking of buying tons of .22.