Newbie.. help me choose a rifle!

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by JT426, May 3, 2011.

1. JT426

JT426 New Member

Hey guys;

I'm fairly new to rifles and am looking to purchase one of my own. I need help getting in the right direction. Here's what I'm looking for:

-I have about $700 to spend.
    -I want it in .308. I will also consider 30-30 and 30-06. I will be using it for hunting and medium range target shooting.
    -Glass is taken care of already so take that out of the price
    -Call me crazy but I prefer synthetics and polymers to wooden stocks
    -I want pretty decent accuracy at around 300 yards, if possible.
    -I have been looking at some Remington 700s, such as the SPS. It's priced great but I want to be sure that I'm getting a good rifle.
    -I've also looked at the Howa Axiom in .308, and the Savage 10FP.

I'm not too worried about length, portability, etc. so I prefer a barrel length/overall size that will give me the best results. Basically I want a decently-priced rifle that is accurate and reliable.

I apologize in advance if this request is far-fetched, against the forum rules, etc. Thanks for any help or replies!

2. M14sRock

M14sRock New Member

Welcome aboard, JT! When you get a moment please swing through our introductions thread and tell us about yourself.

The rifles you mention are all good choices, and fall well within your price range. You should try them all out and decide which one fits you best. It will come down to personal choice.

I prefer a Mauser style controlled round feed action, but of the ones you mentioned I'd go with the Savage, mainly because I have used them a lot and trust them. The Howa would be second choice.

I prefer older Remingtons to the new ones, so would probably hunt around for a used one before buying a new SPS.

But that is all just my opinion, and any of them will treat you well.

3. JT426

JT426 New Member

Thanks for the quick response!