Firearms Talk banner

1 - 20 of 86 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone rank the damage these calibers do from least to most please? .380, 38 special, 9 mm Luger, .357 magnum, .40 S&W, and .45 ACP
I realize some of these calibers are for revolvers and som for semi-autos. Thank you in advace.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I Just remembered, if anyone can also include any +p calibers it would also be nice. Either way thank you again.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
LikeABoss said:
It's a huge debate, all over the forum and on youtube.
Oh, I didn't know. I'm new to handguns and was wanting to learn about the different calibers and how they ranked on their damage caused. Hope this isn't a taboo topic or too general of a question, but if it is, please feel free to not answer me. Thank you again

·
Registered
1,930 Posts
Sam78 said:
Can anyone rank the damage these calibers do from least to most please? .380, 38 special, 9 mm Luger, .357 magnum, .40 S&W, and .45 ACP
I realize some of these calibers are for revolvers and som for semi-autos. Thank you in advace.
I can say .357 mag will do more than the .38 special . The .38 special will do more damage than the .380. I however cannot speak on the semi auto calibers.

·
Administrator
26,131 Posts
While there may be some discussion, polygon is pretty much right on.

There are only 4 TRUE +P cartridges- .38 Special, 9mm Parabellum, .45 ACP- and ALL .38 Super ammo is +P. Those are the rounds for which a standard +P loading has been established by SAAMI. The +P is simply loaded hotter than the standard load.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
c3shooter said:
While there may be some discussion, polygon is pretty much right on.

There are only 4 TRUE +P cartridges- .38 Special, 9mm Parabellum, .45 ACP- and ALL .38 Super ammo is +P. Those are the rounds for which a standard +P loading has been established by SAAMI. The +P is simply loaded hotter than the standard load.