New to the rifle world. Can anyone answere a question for me.

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by Zamzow, Feb 5, 2013.

1. Zamzow

Zamzow New Member

I am new to the rifle world but am planning on buying a 30-06 Remington. I was looking at the Remington 700 SPS but found the Remington 770 with scope for 300 dollars cheaper. Can
    anyone explain to me the differences in the rifles and which would be the best to go with for a beginning hunter

2. lfcshooter

lfcshooter New Member

700 better platform to build on get a scope separate the best you can afford

3. JosephMD

JosephMD New Member

The 770 is designed to be a cheaper version of the 700, but you do get what you pay for. It is designed to facilitate a lot of automation in assembly. The tolerances aren't quite as tight and in my hands, the 770 felt lighter and not quite as solid as the 700. I love my 700 .308, it is great. It really depends on how you plan to use it. If you plan to shoot a lot or you really want to reach out to 500 yards or more, go for the 700. For hunting at medium distances, the 770 would probably be fine.

J

4. texaswoodworker

texaswoodworker New Member

From those two choices, I would go with the 700 hands down. If you don't mind buying used, you could get a 700 a lot cheaper (may not be the same set up though). I have a Remington 700 ADL in 30-06, and it is a great gun. It's super accurate and well made. I got it a few years ago, and it cost about $400 from a pawn shop.

Marlin and Savage also make really good guns at low prices. A Marlin X7 is about $300-$400 and Savage has several models that are $400-$500.

http://www.marlinfirearms.com/Firearms/CenterfireBoltAction/x7.asp

http://www.savagearms.com/firearms/finder/

Last edited: Feb 5, 2013
  5. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Chevrolet and Caddilac are both General Motors cars.

6. kyledirette

kyledirette New Member