new to the forum 17vs17

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by duddie10, Jan 14, 2013.

1. duddie10

duddie10 New Member

Hey every one. Alittle about me cuz im new to the forum been shooting since i was 6yrs old. Ive been reloading for about 2 years now. Looking to get into a 17hmr now which one would you buy anf any pros and cons of them. I was looking to get either a marlin 917vs or the savage mark2 both with the heavy barrel and adj 2 stage trigger. Thanks guys.

2. JAnderson

JAnderson New Member

I have a friend with the savage and a cousin with the marlin. Both are fun and accurate, i dont think you can go wrong with either. If you can spare a little more money I would consider the Ruger 77/17 as well

3. ccrow175

ccrow175 New Member

I have the marlin 917 and I love it.its a tack driver straight out of the box

Attached Files:

4. duddie10

duddie10 New Member

Thats so nice who makes that one and where did u get the stock for it?

5. ccrow175

ccrow175 New Member

Its just a marlin 917 heavy barrel, the stock is a Boyds tacticool. I duracoated it magpul fde. Boyds sells them for 99 bucks, or midway sells them unfinished for 75 I think. Its a great upgrade to the rifle. There's not a lot of other stocks inletted for the marlin, but im happy with the Boyds.

6. duddie10

duddie10 New Member

Thats awsome and suck a cheap upgrade. Looks so good im def going to look into it now.

7. mrt8110

mrt8110 New Member

They are both good rifles. the .17Savage Model is called the 93R 17.I have a 93R17 in .17 and a Mark II in .22 did I say they were awesome!:) Cliff

8. ccrow175

ccrow175 New Member

Yeah, the stock makes a world of a difference, I use my 17 as a trainer rifle for my 308.

9. duddie10

duddie10 New Member