New to Reloading? L@@k here.

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by cpttango30, Jun 25, 2009.

1. cpttango30

cpttango30 New Member

Ok we get a lot of I'm new to reloading what should I buy. There are some on here that like me like RCBS and Dillon some like RL357 like Lee. Some like lyman. Some don't give a darn they just buy something and load on it.

The very first thing you should buy before even comming on here and asking that question is the books below.

ABC's of Reloading

A reloading manual weather it is Sierra, Speer, Hornady, Lyman, Or any other get one maby two. I have myself 2 Sierra, Speer, Hornady, Lyman, Hodgdon, Midwayusa loadmaps for my 45acp. and Precision high power rifle loading.

Look at the powder manufactures web sites. They have tons of info on the web for FREE. Hodgdon who makes Hodgdon, Winchester, and IMR powder has a searchable database of everyone of their powder and thousands of bullets in their's.

Read these book cover to cover and then read them again.

Then come in here and ask specific questions to guys that have been reloading for many years. I myself have been loading for over 25 years. I learned starting at 7 and 8 years old.

Guys of the FTF Reloading forum add to what I have said and I will ask to STICKY this thread at the top of the reloading forum.

Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2011
  2. tonydewar

tonydewar New Member

3. tuts40

tuts40 New Member

After reading the book, twice, is there a test we must pass in order to ask questions here? Ooops, my bad, I didn't read the darn book cover to cover yet and I've already asked a question! :eek:

4. JonM

JonM Moderator

no, but unlike a lot of things in life not reading the manual in the case of reloading can actually kill you quite easily. for instance using pistol powder for rifle loads will turn your firearm into a bomb. not a good thing.

thats why we stress reading the manual so heavily. it really is that important.