New to Reloading 9mm advise

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by cghamm117, Nov 26, 2012.

1. cghamm117

cghamm117 New Member

I am new to reloading, I bought a lee turret press, and dies in 9mm, and a lee manual. I will provide a link to the kit that I bought (not including dies and book). I was wondering what else would be advised to get started. As of right now I am just getting started and going to load 9mm. Also I was kinda looking for some advise on powder, bullets, and casing, primers. I want to start I think with enough supplies to make 500 or 1000 for now. How much powder, what would you recommend? Recommendations on bullets (just fmj plinking for now), primers, casings? And where can I find this, I appreciate the input.

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Lee-...turret+press&WTz_l=Header;Search-All+Products

2. cghamm117

cghamm117 New Member

After looking into my own question, would I have been better off going with the classic turret, kit shown in the link, looks like the one I purchased does not have the priming tool, and is not of the same quality. I am on a budget so if you believe the one purchased is good enough that would be great, but if I shouldve bought the other, I can happily send this one back for the other.

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Lee-...turret+press&WTz_l=Header;Search-All+Products

3. Pjj342

Pjj342 New Member

Im in the same boat you are, but havnt gotten my kit yet. So, im getting all the info I can in order to make my first 500rds.

You can get your bullets and cases online for a decent price, depending on where you look. Googling '9mm reloading brass' or '9mm (.355)reloading bullets' will get you the top sites they will be found. Also, search things like 'cheap 9mm brass' and you can find even more sites that were posted on forums.