new to me Lee Enfield sporter

Discussion in 'Curio & Relic Discussion' started by donthav1, Sep 18, 2011.

1. donthav1

donthav1 Active Member

hey all, just got this Enfield sporter today. It belonged to a great uncle of mine & no one in his family wanted it, so my grandma (his sister) gave it to me.

I'm new to Enfields & know very little about them other than the little bit i've picked up online in the last couple hours, but this seems to be made in 1906 by Enfield, it's the Short magazine Lee Enfield mk 1 as best i can tell by the markings. what you see is what i got with it, so it's obviously missing the magazine & the front & rear sights have been removed at some point in it's life, it has a japanese Valor 4x32 scope on it.

[​IMG]

i have no idea when it was modified but i'd say for a sportered milsurp i'd say it's actually pretty tastefully done

Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
  2. trip286

trip286 New Member

pretty nice... shouldn't be too hard to find a magazine, there are sites out the wazoo for old milsurp guns.

3. M14sRock

M14sRock New Member

"Oh, What a Country" used to have a great deal on all the Enfield mags.

Nice looking sporterized Enfield you have there.

4. 303tom

303tom Well-Known Member

Very nicely done, a few more pictures would be great !

5. 303tom

303tom Well-Known Member

V111111111111111111111

Last edited: Sep 19, 2011
  6. dteed4094

dteed4094 New Member

Looks like a Santa Fe made by golden state arms with an after applied scope. I have one without the Jap scope but with a Bushnell, Shoots great. My first gun. Got it when I was 13 for Christmas 50 years ago.

7. donthav1

donthav1 Active Member

sorry for the delay, here's a couple more pics with some of the markings. this thing has more symbols & writing on it than a men's room at a punk bar

[​IMG]

[​IMG]