New to hunting

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by KateHasaGun, Nov 10, 2013.

1. KateHasaGun

KateHasaGun New Member

Hi,

I am a long time shooting enthusiast, but have never hunted before. My brother and I, (he has never hunted before either), have seriously considered taking hunting up. I am a chef and want to get a little closer to my food.

Most of my shooting thus far has been shotguns and pistols. I wanted some opinions on the 3 guns I am still considering.

1. Compact Remington 700 in .308
    2. Micro Midas X-Bolt in .308
    3. Ruger Gunsite Scout Rifle in .308

All three feature about a 13 inch pull. At 5'2", a short pull is absolutely needed.

2. JayCody

JayCody New Member

It would depend on what you are planning to hunt. Some states have a hunter safety course and I recommend any new hunter take the course to further their knowledge of game preparation and hunting safety.

3. TLuker

TLuker Active Member

You might want to consider a 7mm-08 rather than .308? Given your size and the rifles you are considering the 7mm-08 would be much more fun to shoot.

Of the three you listed I would probably opt for the Browning. I'm normally a Remington fan but Browning is also a fine rifle and that Micro Midas would be tough to beat for the smaller rifles.

Good luck! :)

4. Chief-Long-Iron

Chief-Long-Iron New Member

I cannot speak of the other two rifles you mentioned but I myself own a Remington 700 chambered in .270, it is an excellent rifle, paired with a leupold scope it drives tacks at 200 yards. The specific model you mentioned (700 chambered In .308 ) Is a very popular rifle among military marksmen and snipers, and I have heard not but good reviews. Good Luck!

5. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

I have a Browning X Bolt Hunter in .308, great shooting rifle.

I cannot see how shooting 140 grain 7mm vs 150 grain .30 cal projectiles would significantly reduce recoil on the "08" platform.

6. TLuker

TLuker Active Member