New to Handguns

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by grizzlyohio, Jul 16, 2014.

1. grizzlyohio

grizzlyohio New Member

Hello all,

I am currently shopping around and researching different handguns for home defense and general range shooting. I do not intend to use this weapon as a concealed and carry firearm, more just for something to protect myself and my loved ones inside the home and on my property. The problem I'm facing is the overwhelming amount of firearms to choose from. I am new to handguns but not new to firearms (I own multiple rifles and a shotgun) and know there are some old standard names S&W, Colt, Ruger, etc., but am unsure of where to start. I'd like a reliable pistol for under $1000 and am not particular on wether it is a semi-automatic or a revolver. I understand there are pro's and cons to both. I also understand that there are pros and cons between the caliber choice as well. That being said I know this is a very loaded question and any advise would be very grateful. Thank you for the time.

2. rifleman1

rifleman1 New Member

I would recommend going to your gun store and handling as many handguns as possible, narrow it down ATP a couple that suit your needs and if at all possible shoot the few you select.
    Let me also recommend a glock 19 that is just one of my personal favorites but is not the end all be all pistols.

3. JonM

JonM Moderator

my two top recomendations are the beretta M9 with 20 round mecgar mags or the springfield armory xdm in 9mm. 9mm is a great round to learn with.

go wrap your mitts around a bunch of different types narrow it down to five and research from there

4. kbd512

kbd512 Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

As Jon suggested, 9MM is good choice to start with for a SD/HD handgun.