new to forum...my mini

Discussion in 'Mini-14 Forum' started by hawkguy, Jun 24, 2011.

1. hawkguy

hawkguy Well-Known Member

hey y'all

i post on a few forums, and thought i'd check this one out. i'm pretty new to firearms overall, but i enjoy coming to these forums to share and learn. i already see some familiar names on the board.

here is a pic of my mini 14. it had been a great gun & a pretty good shooter as well. i'm always looking for info & ideas about my guns.

hawkguy

Attached Files:

2. CA357

CA357 New Member Supporter

Welcome to the FTF community.

3. bizy

bizy New Member

Synthetic stock?

My minis both have synthetic stocks.. I am rough with some of my guns and the synthetic stocks dont get scratches and dings as easely as wood. Wood gives it a classy look.. The synthetic stock gives it a more military look..

Hawkeye, is your mini .223 or 7.62?

4. hawkguy

thanks for the welcome!

5. hawkguy

i hear you, the synthetic stocks are much more durable. i am so careful not to ding my pretty wood stock :p, which is not very practical. i just like the look of wood so much better...and my wood stock fits so tight, i think it has benefited accuracy. after a gas block re-torque and even, and an accu-strut, my mini is about a 2" shooter with good ammo.

its a 580 mini 14 .223. here is a recent target pic hitting 15 out of 20 in a 2" sticker @ 100. i just had my first jam after 700 + rounds. i am really happy with this gun, especially considering all the horror stories of problems with minis recently.

Attached Files:

6. Snakedriver

Snakedriver New Member

Sadly, most of the people who slam the Mini have never owned or fired one.:(

I've had one since 1983 and have enjoyed shooting thousands of flawless rounds through mine. So, it doesn't print dime size groups at 100 yards. Your picture says it all regarding the gun's ability to be plenty accurate for its intended purpose. If I want a tack driver, I'll pull out one of my bolt-actions. ;)