new to black powder

Discussion in 'Blackpowder & Musket' started by BWilder, Nov 27, 2012.

1. BWilder

BWilder New Member

im looking at a traditions kentucky parts kit percussion rifle. im wondering if its a good gun to start out with? i have some experience with black powder guns like cleaning, taking them down just never shot them before. i like how i could do the stock and put it together.

2. kfox75

kfox75 Well-Known Member Supporter

When I was in my teens, my dad brought home an 1861 Colt Navy kit that he picked up at the PX. Some of the best times that we had with each other are from that father son build. I am pretty sure that you will enjoy the build, and it will mean so much more to you when you fire off the first round from that rifle. Take your time, and enjoy the build. Yes, you picked up a good first BP rifle.

The besy way to learn the shooting end of the hobby is to find others in your area who shoot black powder. Since you have exprience with cleaning and take down, you already have a group to shoot with. Listen to them, and read the owner's manual. If you have ant questions, post them here. There are plenty of us here that are willing to help out when it is needed. Welcome to your new addiction!

3. BWilder

BWilder New Member

i plan on doing it with my dad also, i havent picked it up yet but just wanted to make sure it wasnt a bad gun. i plan on getting the kentucky pistol kit after to have even more fun!

4. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member

I would recommend researching the project before you order the gun. It is a good gun but even a parts kit requires a certain level of skill in order to end up with a decent product. It is a relatively labor intensive project that will require a decent amount of tools,skill and time. Building a bp gun is a labor of love. I've seen a lot of people purchase kits that never get finished.

5. BWilder

BWilder New Member

whats involved with the kit?

6. orangello

orangello New Member