Featured New to AR Platforms

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by Eli99, May 14, 2018.

1. Eli99

Eli99 New Member

Hello, I'm very interested in building an AR. I have limited experience with these guns but every time I have shot one i have had an absolute blast. I have a few questions regarding the AR:

Some of the rifles i have shot felt rather cheap as I could hear the spring after every shot and it gave off a very cheap impression. Are there ways to work around this?

What brands should I stay away from?

What brands would you reccomend looking into?

Any helpful tips or information are greatly appreciated.

dwmiller and SanchoPanza like this.
  2. SanchoPanza

SanchoPanza Active Member

Buy 1st one:

Colt LE6920,

Colt AR6720,

&/or

Colt AR15A4

Colt. Everything else is just a copy.

dwmiller and locutus like this.

3. Greg_r

Greg_r Well-Known Member

When I was on Parris Island I was excited. I was going to finally shoot the big, bad, USMC battle rifle. BOING! What a let down!

Get yourself a JP Enterprises captured buffer and the boing will go away.

My 6.5 Grendel
    20180512_165147.jpg

Sniper03 and dwmiller like this.
  4. MistWolf

MistWolf New Member

Certain AR stocks amplify the sproing.

Magpul stocks do a good job of damping the sproing.

Make your life easy and get either a Colt 6920 or 6720. Or spend a bit more and the get the Colt CCU.

dwmiller likes this.
  5. Shopfox

Shopfox Well-Known Member

If building, take a look at the Palmetto State Armory kits. They have upper assemblies, lower kits, and rifle kits. They are a good value and are a good way to get introduced to building.

FWIW, I've put together numerous rifles and lowers from PSA kits using both PSA and Anderson stripped lowers. I have not had any problems (about 8 builds).

Many of the kits have the Magpul MOE furniture. The Enhanced Polished Trigger is worth the $29 upgrade with the kits.