New shotgun purchase

Discussion in 'General Shotgun Discussion' started by Ara, Jan 18, 2013.

1. Ara

Ara New Member

Hello all-

I am looking to purchase my 1st shotgun.

I'm looking for something mostly for self defense and occasional target shootings at the Range.

I've narrowed my search to a Remington 870 tactical express and a benelli supernova

I am not an expert in shotguns at all and would really appreciate any input / advise.

I've shot a benelli supernova once and was very impressed by the handling /recoil. I've never shot a 870, hence I really don't know how it feels.

In my area, the price difference between 2 shotguns are $100. I don't mind the difference so long as I know I'm getting a better product.

Any thought / ideas is highly appreciated.

Thanks.

Ara

2. potentialglock

potentialglock New Member

Go for the benelli. Higher quality product. Remington has been having quality issues lately

3. Ara

Ara New Member

Thanks. That's the 2nd comment I heard about Remington today.

4. akers06

akers06 New Member

Yea go with the benelli for sure they are twice then gun new 870s are but instead of the supernova check out the regular nova not much different and cheaper

5. Blueguns

Blueguns New Member

I would get the Benelli. The 870 is not the gun it used to be.

6. bigrock44

bigrock44 New Member

I have a 870 and if given the choice I would get a Nova or Super Nova

7. badasstruck

badasstruck New Member

Benelli! I love mine!

8. 1911love

1911love New Member