New Jersey gun laws - Guilty till proven you qualify for an exemption

Discussion in 'Legal and Activism' started by Yunus, Nov 16, 2010.

1. Yunus

Yunus New Member

Brian Aitken's Mistake - Reason Magazine

Should we write some letters to Gov Christie on behalf of this guy? He thought he was following the rules and even if he was not moving as the judge suggests he was still attempting to prevent firearms from being in a situation with people at a party who were drinking.

2. bkt

bkt New Member

Yes, we should.

3. dunerunner

dunerunner New Member

I agree, a noble effort for the members of the FTF.

Brian Aitken's Mistake - Reason Magazine
    609-292-6000

OR Through the web site @

Office of the Governor | Contact Us

4. buckhuntr

buckhuntr Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

Wow! I'm not a lawyer, but doesn't it seem that by the judge refusing to allow evidence to be presented to the jury, that there are sufficient grounds for a successful appeal, all the way to the SCOTUS? That poor guy. :confused::mad:
    I hate New Jersey for other reasons, but this one takes the cake.

5. dunerunner

dunerunner New Member

My letter to Gov Christie.

Governor Christie,

Although I live on the opposite coast, I am writing today to respectfully request you look at the case of 27 year old Brian Aitken. This young man is a media consultant and business man. He has no prior arrests and is for all proposes the victim of judicial prejudice.

It is obvious Mr. Aitken was in the process of changing residences at the time of his arrest. The court chose to ignore evidence which validated that exemption claim.

I trust that, following examination of the case, you will agree that Brian has been victimized. I am requesting that you find a way to grant his petition for a reprieve.

Sincerely,

6. buckhuntr

buckhuntr Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

I went the route of the Governor's Website link (and was a bit more wordy):