New hunter: question

Discussion in 'Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion' started by buddernutt, Jul 23, 2011.

1. buddernutt

buddernutt New Member

Hi and I am new to hunting and looking at my 1st gun. I don't want to go higher than 400, and was looking at the Remington 742 woodsmaster in 308. However, I was also looking at the 770, which is bolt, in 30.06. Any advice would be great (and if you have another gun in mind, by all means, let me know!)

2. SmithKid308

SmithKid308 New Member

Marlin has some nice 30/30's and i own two and love them and is actually selling one

3. Shihan

Shihan Active Member Lifetime Supporter

What are you looking to hunt with it? 30-06 is probably the best for all around, might think about .270
    Something like a Tikka T3 in .270, may cost you a bit more.

4. wmille01

wmille01 New Member

My first hunting rifle was a model 700 in 30-06, I still have it and it still shoots very accurately. It also depends on where you live and what your going to be hunting, here we kill everything from deer to hogs.

5. SmithKid308

SmithKid308 New Member

It does depend where you live i live in ky and only hunt dear

6. Jake15

Jake15 New Member

Personally I wouldn't get either rifle, I've always heard the 742 had magazine and bolt problems, and the 770 is the cheap plastic version of the 700, I'd try to find a 700 or maybe a lever action 30-30, but that's just me

7. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

Hunting what? Where? Expected range? You do not provide nearly enough information to give any reasonable opinion.

The gun needed for hunting deer in dense forest is far different from the gun needed to hunt the long Senderos of south Texas.

8. fapprez

fapprez New Member

I was going to say the same thing. Get yourself a 30/30. I like the marlins and the winchesters, personally. I never go hunting without it..........well, unless I'm hunting squirrel, then that would just be silly.:p

9. buddernutt