Firearms Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to this forum, or any gun related forum for that matter. I am a Viet Nam vet and a novice when it comes to gun ownership. I hunted in my youth (45 years ago) and owned shotguns. I currently have one gun, an inexpensive low quality 9mm semi automatic pistol. It jams a lot. I took it in trade in lieu of a debt payment from a friend.

I’m looking for advice on purchasing a better quality small caliber hand gun. I want to start target shooting, plinking and getting my wife familiar and comfortable with handling a hand gun. My preference would be a revolver. Any suggestions or advice on manufacturer and caliber any of you can offer would be appreciated?

Thanks.

·
Registered
517 Posts
Welcome to FTF you'll find a bunch of men and women here with all sorts of knowledge and can answer all you're questions related to firearms.There is a revolver section where you can find the answer you just posted and I am positive the ladies can help with any question that relates to getting you're wife involved.

·
Registered
1,943 Posts
Welcome

Welcome from Georgia. Glad you found us. I know there are a lot of really nice revolvers out there but I can only recommend firearms that I have shot alot and in a small caliber that would be a Ruger Single Six if you want a single action or a Smith & Wesson Model 617 if its a double action you want. Both are 22 LR so pretty cheap to shoot and ammo is everywhere. I'm really not fond of really small handguns for new shooters unless the plan is to try to conceal it. The short sight radius just makes them harder to shoot well and if you shoot well you will shoot more. I also like adjustable sights on my fun guns. Anyway that my humble opinion. And welcome to the group.

·
FAA licensed bugsmasher
7,141 Posts
[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vD94dVu8lqQ[/ame]