New Gun

Discussion in 'Blackpowder & Musket' started by Sandmancw, Apr 28, 2011.

1. Sandmancw

Sandmancw New Member

I inherited a Crown V-R Tower 1855 rifle. It appears to be a 62 caliber smooth bore. I have been trying to find information about the gun and company. So far the google searches just come up with gun auctions.

I was hoping this forum could give me some information and direct me to some useful web sites.

Thanks,

Sandmancw

2. Rick1967

Rick1967 Well-Known Member

Can you post some pics. There are some really knowledgable people here. But pics are usually needed. Why don't you stop by the introductions section and tell us a little about yourself.

Hey I lived in Temple for a couple of years! I used to work as a mechanic at the Sears that is in the mall.

3. Hawg

Hawg Active Member

It's an 1853 pattern Enfield. V-R is Victoria Regina. Tower is the London Armory where it was made. 1855 is the year it was made. It was originally a .577 rifled barrel.

4. CA357

CA357 New Member Supporter

That's impressive Hawg. I was curious too.

5. Hawg

Hawg Active Member

Didn't even have to look that one up.:D

6. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Hawg nailed it. There IS no company- made by Her Majesty's government. all arms were the property of the crown- hence the VR marking- Queen Vicky. Tower was the Tower of London.

7. fireguy

fireguy New Member

You guys are like Rainman counting toothpicks with this arcane stuff. Props to y'all!

8. Hawg

Hawg Active Member

ARCANE???:eek:

9. Sandmancw

Sandmancw New Member

Thanks for all the info Hawg. If it was rifled at first why does it now appear to be a smooth bore and a larger caliber? unless my caliber sizer is off.

Even though it was made by the government, was it not made by a company under contract or did the government make it's own guns?

So much to learn.

Sandmancw

10. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member