New Glock 23 Range today

Discussion in 'Range Report' started by 12fretter, Nov 18, 2013.

1. 12fretter

12fretter New Member

I am new to Glock and I just received this today from Glock.

First, a couple comments on the gun. I went through the backstraps and decided on the largest one. It felt the best in my mid to large hands. The grips are hard and I was immediately thinking I'll have to wrap them somehow in rubberized something or other, but it's not horrible. The first mag was painful. The trigger guard was getting my right hand middle finger. But the more I shot, without consciously addressing the issue, the more comfortable it became. After about three mags, I wasn't feeling it anymore at all.

The trigger is a bit stiff. I'd really like to improve that someday.

I'm not a good shooter, and my skill level on any particular day is determined by how many holes I can account for, not how close to the middle I am. Today I just used paper plates as targets. When I took my time, here are the results I got:

7 yards:
    [​IMG]

10 yards:
    [​IMG]

15 yards:
    [​IMG]

On the 15 yard plate, there is one round unaccounted for. Overall, this is a stellar day for me. I certainly would feel very comfortable carrying this every day, as was intended when I bought it.

Any advice on grips would be appreciated. Also, should I break the trigger in at all or just have it looked at now?

Thanks for any tips.

2. MisterMcCool

MisterMcCool Well-Known Member Supporter

Wow! Stacking bullets at fifteen yards with a handgun. :)

3. Garadex

Garadex New Member

I call bs on the "not a good shot" thing, thats good enough for defense.

4. 12fretter

12fretter New Member

It is good enough for self defense, I know. But I've seen guys on here with groupings where you can't count the holes cuz they all blend together. That's where I want to be. But I was good with my results for sure.

5. vincent

vincent New Member