New bolt action 7mm-08

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by ironsights88, Oct 11, 2013.

1. ironsights88

ironsights88 New Member

I am new to bolt action rifles, I have a savage bolt action in 7mm-08 with a Bushnell scope and I am looking to zero the rifle this weekend.

What is the best way to do this, without purchasing any type of bore sight kit.

2. Apex-Predator

Apex-Predator New Member

Alot of gun stores will do that for cheap or free. My friend at the gun counter of Bass Pro does it for me and never charged me a dime. Good call on the Savage 7mm-08, good all around caliber and great rifle.

3. Mercator

Mercator Active Member

1. Mount a large sheet of paper, such as 36"x24" sold for 50 c at Walmart and similar stores, on a target frame. Paint a large enough dot approximately in the center.
    2. Place the target in front of a tall earth mound with clumps of grass or small shrubs.
    3. Place the scoped rifle on two heavy sandbags or a shooting sled, at 25 yards from the target.
    4. Take a deliberate shot, aiming exactly at the center dot.
    5. Note the hit. Adjust the scope and shoot at the same dot again. Repeat until you hit at about 4 inches or less off center.
    6. If your 1st shot missed paper, fire a 2nd one and note where it hit the background. A burst of sand or cut grass will show where the bullet hit. Adjust the scope to put the next shot on paper.
    7. Once you are done at 25 yds, move away to 50 yds. Repeat the above until you hit dead center. At this stage you can put a self sticking splash target to see the hits better. If you want to zero your rifle at a longer range, move away in 25 yard increments. You don't have to be dead on at every stage, just close enough to stay on paper moving to the next stage. When you reach the desired range for zeroing, then proceed to the MOA adjustments.

With a properly mounted scope, have a box of 20 rounds for a 100 yard zero.

4. bntyhntr6975

bntyhntr6975 New Member