New AR build checklist

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by drclaw5, Nov 11, 2011.

1. drclaw5

drclaw5 New Member

Alright fellas here is my list. I need some input as this is my first build. What am I missing? What should I stay away from? this is somewhat of a budget build but I don't want to sacrifice quality and be unhappy with what I build.

lower:
    Spikes stripped lower rec
    spikes lower parts kit
    Magpul Carbine Stock dark earth
    DSA complete buffer tube kit
    Magpul MIAD mission adaptable grip dark earth
    Magpul PMAG Magazine dark earth

Tools:
    Roll pin starter punch set

Complete upper: (really need input on this side of things)
    found this one *Surplus Ammo & Arms Complete AR-15 M4 16" Upper Receiver 5.56 1:9 - Surplus Ammo
    but not sure if this is a decent upper or not.

Thanks in advance! This site is incredibly helpful and informative!

2. dog2000tj

dog2000tj New Member

Sounds like a good start and that's a pretty darned good price for a complete upper ;)

3. drclaw5

drclaw5 New Member

thanks! on that upper is it a free float rail system? I am still learning about the uppers.

4. dog2000tj

dog2000tj New Member

The MagPul MOE handguards are an upgraded version for the clamshells. They are not free float rails but will allow the attachment of accessory items and are probably lightweight enough to not affect accuracy.

5. drclaw5

drclaw5 New Member

thanks man i really appreciate it! I think im gonna jump on this deal

6. Redarrow18

Redarrow18 New Member

seems good to me! may i ask how much the rifle costs total?

7. drclaw5

drclaw5 New Member

Probably end up about $700 or maybe a little less if I can find some sales on some of the items.

8. Quentin

Quentin New Member

Hope you're also following ShirtRIPPA's recent thread, Claw, since you're talking about the same upper and getting different opinions...

9. Vincine

Vincine New Member

Brownells has a AR 15 builder site: