Need suggestions for a quality headlamp.

Discussion in 'Firearm Accessories & Gear' started by buckhuntr, May 17, 2014.

1. buckhuntr

buckhuntr Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

Working around the homestead, there are times me and Wifey have to venture out at night to tend to animals, chase off varmints, etc., etc. We have headlamps that have a decent white light, but the red light sucks. Red is important, because that light doesn't disturb the poultry as much, and also reflects eyes better. So we're needing to find a lamp that has a good range of white brightness, doesn't eat batteries like teenagers eat M&Ms, and has a GOOD red light that you can actually see by.

Oh, and for a reasonable price.

2. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

check out the Streamlight brand of lights. i have been using various Streamlight flashlights for several years now and highly recommend them. top quality products. not cheap, but not over the top in price either IMO.

http://www.streamlight.com/en-us

3. buckhuntr

buckhuntr Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

Thanks for the link. I looked at their lights, but didn't see a headlamp with red light option. That's the biggest need we have. When we're catching birds in the pens at night, hands-free is essential, and white lights wake them up and make the task more difficult.

4. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member

I use the Energizer headlights they sell at Lowes. I also keep a high intensity light in my pocket in case I need a spotlight or a bright light up close. You can get colored lens caps for the high intensity lights. The Energizer headlamp will do for catching fowl in a pen. If the birds are out you will need the high intensity light to find the roost.