Need some help on a trade PLEASE!!!! Opinions welcomed.....

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by eborden1122, Jan 26, 2016.

1. eborden1122

eborden1122 Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

I have a guy offering me an AR 15 for my S&W 1911 E-Series pistol that I bought new for $1300. He is offering an AR in a 5.56 caliber with a White Oak upper, Troy rail, Red Jacket Lower, ACS Stock and 5 mags. I'm somewhat new to AR's. Is what he built any good? Does it compare to my 1911 as it is decked out for a pistol. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance for any advice. Ed

2. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

My first reaction is no.

I have not had a second reaction, yet.

Anti Psychotic likes this.

3. Dallas53

Dallas53 Well-Known Member

i'd have to say no as well. your pistol is used and probably not still worth $1300, but still worth probably more than what he's put into that AR. in straight up trade, I wouldn't make the trade. there would have to be some money from his side for me to make the trade.

4. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member

If White Oak actually built the upper then I'd consider it. What configuration is the upper in? Is it a rifle length barrel and gas system? Floated barrel? Which one of their barrels, because they use some Wilson match blanks which are good, and the also use some premium barrels for their blanks, like Douglas and Shillen. I've seen a White Oak built Service rifle take first place in a fleet match and earn the shooter a Secretary of the Navy M1Garand, along with completing the final leg points to earn that shooter his Distinguished Marksmanship badge. Now the guy behind the butt plate had a lot to do with it too. But, White Oak makes some competition level stuff.

Don't know if what is being offered is on that level though.

5. Alpha1Victor

Alpha1Victor New Member

I don't think I'd do the trade man. Some pictures could help but I haven't heard anything good about red jacket firearms.

6. towboater