Need help with the 30-06

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by fatmidgets, Oct 12, 2011.

1. fatmidgets

fatmidgets New Member

Hey guys. I'm new to the world of centerfire rifles. I recently came across a Remington Buckmasters Edition with a 3x9x40 Redfield scope already mounted on the rifle, with lense covers, chambered in 30-06. The price (hold your breath)... Brand new for around $470. I'm just asking if
    1. you think this is a good deal
    2. Your opinions on the 30-06 caliber (including recoil, price of ammo, etc.).
    Any help is appreciated, and Thx.

2. Shade

Shade New Member

Without the scope it is a good deal, with the scope it is a very good deal.

.30-06 is a very popular round lots of options for factory and reloading.

What do you plan on doing with it? Hunting? What species?

3. fatmidgets

fatmidgets New Member

4. Shade

Shade New Member

Anything in North America.

I personally would go bigger on Grizzly or Polar Bear;
    but alot of them I am sure have been killed with .30-06.

Unless you are going to Asia or Africa to hunt large
    dangerous game, you will be set for a long time.

5. fatmidgets

fatmidgets New Member

How is ammo cost and availability?

6. Shade

Shade New Member

Availability is about as good as it gets.

Cost is fair for comparable rounds. But then again no ammo is cheap
    any more. Lotsa surplus .30-06 military rounds still out there.

Hell if you don't buy it let me know where it is at (PM please) I might snag
    it. I already reload .30-06.

7. fatmidgets

fatmidgets New Member

Haha, Florida! I think its one of those "once in a lifetime" deals. I also saw the same model in .243 for around $650, but now I feel the 30-06 would be more versitile. Thx for your help.

8. 762

762 Member

.30-06 remington 700 adl was my first gun. i loved it. back then i could get 20 rounds for about $14. it's gone up now of course, but it isnt too expensive. not like a .300 win mag for example.

9. fatmidgets