Need help with SKS value.

Discussion in 'AK & SKS Discussion' started by sputnik1988, Jun 8, 2012.

1. sputnik1988

sputnik1988 Active Member

I have a Chinese SKS with a folding stock and tapco mag, most of the parts match but they dont match the reciever. It is missing the op rod and gas tube but has everything else.

The bore is very good and the metal has been bead blasted and painted.

Anyway, I plan to take it to a gun show tomorrow and sell it. How much should I put on it?

Btw, sorry for the lack of sentence structure, I'm kinda in a hurry.:D

2. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member

Eh I'd say $200 max. I'm no sks expert I've only had one for about a month.

3. orangello

orangello New Member

You are going to try to sell a non-operable, incomplete SKS at a gunshow? I would expect some low-balling. Have you considered completing it first with the tapco op-rod & gas tube combo?

In non-working shape, i would ask $200 and be prepared to be haggled down.

Last edited: Jun 8, 2012
  4. sputnik1988

Was planning on it but to put it bluntly, I'm poor.:(

I'd Like to get $150-$175. Do you think there is any chance?

5. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member

There's always a chance.

6. sputnik1988

Id like to maybe pick up a Nagant and a can of ammo in its place.

7. sputnik1988

I may try to pick up a gas tube and op rod while I'm there so its complete, may help it sell.

8. sputnik1988

Assuming that I go ahead and finish it, how much would you guys say it's worth?

9. Rick1967

Rick1967 Well-Known Member

That is a tough question. Are you 100% sure that it would be safe to shoot if you bought those parts? Did you loose them? Or was it non operational when you got it? I would not sell a gun as complete if I didnt know for sure that it was safe.

10. sputnik1988

Never shot it, it was in parts when I got it. It needs to have the headspace checked as its not the original bolt. I have full intention of disclosing this information.