Firearms Talk banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am currently a student at The Modern Gun School since there isn't a physical school near me. I've been trying to find a job at a shop but it's turning out to be a lot harder than I anticipated since most shops are weary about my age, I'm only 19. I value hands on experience and I believe that the best way to get that is to work next to a professional and have them teach me along the way. With my school i have already done a few hands on projects such as stock refinishing and soldering. I've been around guns my whole life and cleaned more barrels than I've ever cleaned my room, I've mounted and bore sighted countless scopes and other optics, and have done many cosmetic upgrades to my own rifles.
Now to get to the point of this post.
Since trying to get a job at a shop is proving unsuccessful I've been thinking of starting my own little business. Im aware that I am not yet eligible for an FFL and that it will greatly restrict what I am able to do in the sense of a "business" since the ATF states when asked,

"Is a license needed to engage in the business of engraving, customizing, refinishing or repairing firearms?
Yes. A person conducting such activities as a business is considered to be a gunsmith within the definition of a dealer."

I just want to pick some brains here on this forum and get some advice on the direction I should go. Guns are my passion and it is and always will be a dream of mime to work with and around them.

Thank you all,
Jack Tutino

·
Supporting Member
12,636 Posts
Jack
Sorry to advise yes an FFL is required. With Repairs, Engraving, Finishing, or customizing a weapon for someone or a customer.