My remington scoremaster .22 rifle

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by MrWray, Sep 26, 2011.

1. MrWray

MrWray New Member

I have a remington scoremaster .22 magazine fed bolt action rifle. It was my grandmothers as long as i can remember and i aquired it after she passed away in 2007. I was raised by my grandmother and remember shooting it as a kid. It is chambered to shoot .22 shorts and long rifle, and i have 2, 5 round magazines for it. Does anyone know the history of these rifles. It has proof marks on it but i cant find a serial number

View attachment 1

image-2454385348.jpg

Attached Files:

2. jjfuller1

jjfuller1 New Member

i cant help you much but i did want to sa its a great .22 my uncle has one and has since he was a kid. it is still super accurate and fun to shoot

3. MrWray

MrWray New Member

She used to tell me stories about her squirrel and rabbit hunting with her .22 rifle whenever she was a kid. I think this is the same rifle that she was referring to

4. neilage66

neilage66 New Member

Great family gun there and looks to be in good shape.

Remington's .22 bolt guns have always been good and even the *cheaper* models were accurate shooters.

5. MrWray

MrWray New Member

She doesnt get shot very much anymore but i keep her well lubed and wiped down

6. neilage66

neilage66 New Member

That would be a perfect gun for a youngster to learn on. ;)

ps: Your 1st attachment in the OP brings us to a Taurus revolver.

Last edited: Sep 26, 2011
  7. MrWray

MrWray New Member

Yessir,my son is 8 now and i plan on handing it down to him in a few years....a taurus revolver you say

8. canebrake

canebrake New Member

It's a Remington 511, built from 1939 to 1963.

To determine the build date, value and the variant of the 511, provide me with the answers to the following:
    1. There is a two or three letter code stamped on the barrel at the receiver end. What is that code?