My new toy. (& first firearm)

Discussion in 'XD Forum' started by chff95, Jul 25, 2008.

1. chff95

chff95 New Member

Hey everyone,

I am a complete noob to the gun world. I've wanted to get into it as a new hobby for a while. I've done some shooting with a couple cop friends and have recieved some basic training. Originally I was just interested in getting a weapon for personal defense. After shooting a couple of times at the range I found I really enjoy it. I finally broke down and got my first firearm yesterday. A Springfield XD 9 4". I'm looking forward to learning alot from all you veterans. Just wanted to say hi...............................

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. fapprez

fapprez New Member

Sweet! Welcome to the forum and the sport.

3. Samhain

Samhain New Member

Very nice.... Welcome to the forum.

This can be a very expensive and addicting hobby.
    I just bought my 2nd safe, a tall 14 gun safe. My small cube safe
    was getting too small, and I bought an AR a little while back and need to lock it up. Now I have an excuse to get more long guns.... I'm thinking shot gun...

4. chorst294

chorst294 New Member

Welcome to the forum and congrats on your fine new firearm. What little experience I have shooting the XD has all been very positive. I wish my Glocks had a trigger like that.

5. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

While I don't have an XD, I would feel very comfortable owning one. It certainly would be ahead of Glock in my list of choices.

6. genie

genie New Member

Most everyone I know agrees they find the XD desirable due to it's trigger pull, which is actually a true single-action affair. Glock design is slightly different, and also feels different; some like it, some don't.

I find I can keep the XD "on-target" more easily than I can a Glock.

7. Chester

Chester New Member