My first trip to the range with the M&P

Discussion in 'Range Report' started by Franciscomv, Jun 14, 2009.

1. Franciscomv

Franciscomv New Member

I took my new 9mm S&W M&P to the range for the first time yesterday, it's really different to what I'm used to shoot (double action revolvers). The only semiautos I have some experience with are 1911's, and I a couple of traditional DA/SA pistols I had for a short while.

I'm happy with the gun, it had zero issues (I shot 150 rounds), the sights are easy to see and rapid firing is easy.

The picture is from the first magazine I fired, far from competition record worthy but decent enough for defense. Plus the groups grew steadily tighter as I became a bit more familiar with the trigger.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. easterner123

easterner123 New Member

The group looks pretty good for the first time out. I only have shot a double action revolver. And btw, where'd you get the "bad kid" target?

3. Jo da Plumbr

Jo da Plumbr New Member

Nice gun. Good shootin'

4. ScottG

ScottG New Member

It looks like an unofficial Chavez portrait..........

5. Franciscomv

Franciscomv New Member

:D

They are sold at my gun club. We actually had some protests by human rights organizations about our targets, they wanted us to stop using anything that looked like a person. :confused:

6. zhuk

zhuk New Member

Actually the National umbrella organisation here, the SSAA (Sporting Shooters Assoc of Aust, which you are bound to join by law when you sign up with your local club) does not use human-shaped targets, and they also discourage the wearing of camo clothing on ranges. My club, being a Naval Reserve one which trains cadets etc has no problem with this; our targets are most definately human-shaped [see my range report for pic] and 'kill shots' are referred to for scoring purposes even though shooting at targets is all we will ever do. And lots of people wear camo. I bet the SSAA would have kittens about that lol

7. SGT-MILLER