My First(ish) Shotgun

Discussion in 'General Shotgun Discussion' started by victorzamora, Jun 6, 2011.

1. victorzamora

victorzamora New Member

Alright guys, I love these threads so I figured I'd go ahead and start one. I plan on buying the shotgun no later than a month from now. I plan on spending up to $500 on it (I know, not much...but I'm a college student only getting paid by research). The shotguns I've been looking at were a Remington Model 1100, Remington 870 here, a Mossberg 535, and an Investarm 12GA overunder. I've been looking at 12GA, but I wouldn't mind a 20GA (mostly because of my girlfriend). I want it as a mainly skeet/trap gun. It will sit by my nightstand, but the focus WILL be breaking little orange clay disks.

I say that this is my first-ish shotgun because although I've never owned a shotgun, I've shot a shotgun of every action so I can get used to anything...but I've never shot anything so often that I'm used to it. Anywho, let me know what you think.

2. deathkricket

deathkricket New Member

3. davemccarthy707

davemccarthy707 New Member

The Benelli Nova is an awesome shotty as well.

4. hiwall

hiwall Well-Known Member

My first choice would be the Remington 870. Nothing is as durable.

5. cddbrowns

cddbrowns New Member

Honstly, a Mossy 500 is about all anyone would need unless going for the high dollar "Im rich and I shoot clay pigeons" type of thing. No offense intended, I understand the desire for a really nice shotty, I have the same desire, but as a start out "my first shotgun" type thing, you cant go wrong with a Mossy.

6. Virginian

Virginian Active Member