My first 1911 w/ photos

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by jamesb, Jun 27, 2010.

1. jamesb

jamesb New Member

Yep...I did it. I have always loved the 1911 pistols and wanted one. Very hard to decide what I wanted in a 1911 as im a newb to owning pistols. Plus i've only shot .22 and 9mm so was a bit worried about what the .45 would be like. Kept seeing visions of the pistol slamming me in the face from its sheer power.

I went to a shop that rented pistols for $10 for 10 shots.(I got 12 rounds though). I just wanted to make sure I could handle the .45 ok. After the first round lets just say I had a huge grin on my face. No where near as bad as I thought and was totally controlable. This is sure fun!

I tested out a Kimber Pro Carry II and felt it was pretty nice. Not to heavy, fit my larger hands well, and recoil didn't feel much worse than my 9mm.

I knew I wanted a 4" 1911 in 45 ACP that I could carry for under $900. I found that the Pro Carry II and a Springfield GI were the two I came back to, plus they were 2 of the 3 in the store that met those requirements. Springfield felt a lot heavier and the trigger didn't feel as smooth.

Ended up getting the Kimber, spare Kimber 8 rd magazine, DeSantis holster, and a box of Winchester 230gr FMJ for the range....bit more expensive to shoot than a 9mm.

The only thing I find odd is the manual states that the recoil spring should be replaced every 800 rounds...that seems quick. Is this just the Kimbers? I read something about it being bushingless (need to see what that is) so maybe that has something to do with it.

I'm a lefty so it will take some practice releasing the slide. It seems very hard to do so right now, but I figure after break in it will be easier.

This is my second pistol and first 1911. Hope it treats me well. Plan to break it down and clean it before going to the range in a few days.

Anything to know about Kimbers in general?