My 1st build finished lower

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by capnklump, Jan 12, 2014.

1. capnklump

capnklump New Member

Well I finished my Spikes Tactical lower. It is CLEARLY evident that I am a novice because I marred the hell out of my lower. I'm gonna have to get a touch up marker. I'll tell you if your not experienced in working with all those tiny detents, springs, & roll pins, its quite a learning curve. A few times I had very small springs flying halfway across the room lol... Its a miracle I did not lose anything. But even with all the headache this first build gave me, I tested all the functions (trigger, hammer, safety, etc.) & everything works as its supposed to. I'm thinking about some upgrades for it later like some anti-roll trigger & hammer pins.Building an AR is one of the things that you just get better at the more you do it. I'm doing the upper tomorrow, & with any luck I'll bring it to the range later in the week. ImageUploadedByFirearms Talk1389579479.840670.jpg ImageUploadedByFirearms Talk1389579501.673198.jpg

2. sputnik1988

sputnik1988 Active Member

Painters tape can save a lot of heartache, I always use it on builds.

Looks like a good candidate for a duracoat/ceracoat job. Nice choice on parts.

3. capnklump

capnklump New Member

Thanks. I used a CMMG LPK. Magpul pistol grip & STR stock. Is the cerakote something you can do yourself or you gotta bring it somewhere??

4. sputnik1988

sputnik1988 Active Member

It can be done but I never have. Another member, TexasGunner just did his AR awhile back, turned out great.

5. TexasGunner

TexasGunner New Member