Multiple rifles in the same caliber - what's the point?

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by Beezer, Nov 15, 2013.

1. Beezer

Beezer Member

I have 2 Remington 30-06's. One is a 700 bolt action and the other is a 742 Woodsmaster semi-automatic.

I'm fairly new to gun ownership and shooting. Is there a good reason for keeping 2 guns of the same caliber?

I ask because I am considering selling the semi-automatic to outfit the bolt-action rifle. The bolt-action will be used mostly for target shooting and hunting.

2. 303tom

303tom Well-Known Member

A lot of shooters on the line & only 1 ammo !..............

3. string1946

string1946 New Member

Welcome to FTF. I'm not that far from you. I'm about 40 miles south of Athens. Personally I don't let any of my guns go unless its a last resort. I have sold a few years ago when I needed the money more than I needed the gun but no more as I have always regreted it. Have you checked the price of guns in general. They seem to be a pretty good investment. I just went to the man vault and checked and as an example I have 15 rifles and 9 handguns chambered for 22 lr and none of them are for sale. If you NEED the money thats one thing but if you can scrape it up from somewhere else thats the way I would go. Your mileage may vary. Ok theres one opinion. I'm sure you will get more.

Last edited: Nov 15, 2013
  4. TLuker

TLuker Active Member

Bolt actions tend to be more accurate and better suited for longer range shooting as a result. Semi's offer faster follow up shots but give up a little accuracy. If you start hunting you could set up the bolt action for long range shooting and the 742 for the woods and closer ranges. That would be nice because then you would only need to buy one caliber of bullet and you would have a good rifle set up for each situation. It also gives you a backup rifle if needed. :)

5. jjfuller1

jjfuller1 New Member