Mossberg 930

Discussion in 'General Shotgun Discussion' started by Polygon, Mar 11, 2012.

1. Polygon

Polygon New Member

Just wondering what everyone thought of this shotgun? I'm looking for something for trap shooting. I'm not looking to spend a ton because I'm just getting into it. I was looking for a Beretta 3901 but I can't seem to find them. If you have any other suggestions let me know as well.

And why is it do hard to find a shotgun in a walnut finish these days?

2. HockaLouis

HockaLouis New Member

For sport, for a traditional outline gun, the Mossberg 930 is award winning. I think if you find the standard sport cartridge cycles and you clean the thing all the time it is probably a fine choice.

I do NOT recommend the 930 SPX as a defensive arm!

3. akers06

akers06 New Member

Another cheaper dependable is the STOEGER m3500 I bought mine for $555 and I haven't a problem yet it has cycles everything from 1oz Target loads to 3 1/2 in turkey loads

4. Polygon

Polygon New Member

Yeah, I'm using this for trap only. No hunting and certainly not as defensive.

Thanks, I'll check it out as well.

5. akers06

akers06 New Member

Also weatherby makes a really pretty auto for a good price

6. Polygon

Polygon New Member

It's been a while since I've posted about this again and I'm getting ready to buy. I'm thinking I want to go with the 930. But I'm wondering, should I go with something with a 3" chamber or 3 1/2" chamber?

7. akers06

akers06 New Member

I like 3 1/2 for turkeys but 3 inch will work ok also

8. Polygon

Polygon New Member

I'm 99% sure I'll never use it for hunting, just trap. Just wondering which would be better to use, or is there one that is harder to find?

9. akers06

akers06 New Member

If ur never gonna hunt with it I would buy the 3 inch gun....the 930 and 935 are both readily available at any mossberg dealer

10. Sniper03

Sniper03 Supporting Member Supporter

Polygon,