Mossberg 500C

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing Forum' started by 2ndamendment, Jun 22, 2011.

1. 2ndamendment

2ndamendment New Member

I am about to complete the Master Gunsmith course from PSU, and wanted to attempt to fix repair the safty on my Mossberg 500c 20 gauge shotgun. My grandson took the gun hunting last winter and returned it with the safty latch missing.

1. Do I drill out the trigger pin, or does it punch out?

2. I have already purchased the schematics from Numrick, but is there a repair guns book?

3. What tools, other then screwdrive, pliers & hammer will I most likely need?

Any information to assist me would be appreciated. As I am just starting out in this field.

Thanks
    Samuel B. Allen
    2nd Amendment Gunsmith & Pawn Broker
    (As I plan to name the shop - providing I get FFL authorization and all that good stuff.)

2. Atrawick

Atrawick New Member

Really? You're about to complete a Master course in GunSmithing. I don't mean to be rude but these are questions you should already know the answer too.

3. masterPsmith

masterPsmith New Member

No comment !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jim....

4. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

With those questions, I would question what are you getting for your money.
    The first thing one learns is what tools and how to properly use them.
    Pliers have no place in a gunsmith shop. (I can understand the hammer, but make sure it is one BFH)

5. 2ndamendment

2ndamendment New Member

If you don't want to answer my question, keep silent, I don't need your comments.

6. stalkingbear

stalkingbear Well-Known Member

The trigger pin punches out. When you pull the trigger group free from the action the shell stops (long pieces of steel on each side) will fall out if you don't watch it. I suggest the AGI courses.

7. 2ndamendment

2ndamendment New Member

Reply, Thanks